Discovery and Then Some

bathroom 1 014

I am taking a course on Constitutional Law from Yale University

School of Law. I was asked to introduce myself and here is what I wrote.

 

You may recognize it as a poem I have published.

 

 

“Discovery

The journey to superiority reveals no truth.

The search for proof serves only the seeker.

Those who teach, learn little.

Those who encourage others to learn have taken steps toward peace, knowledge and self-respect.

Those who seek power over others enslave themselves.

In order to experience love one must love one’s self.

In order to love one’s self one must know self-respect.

In order to respect one’s self one must be willing to serve others with no expectation of reward.”

 

I received this reply

 

Subject: Update in Thread – Discovery – Constitutional Law
Date: 2/22/2014 9:07:29 P.M. US Mountain Standard Time
From: noreply@coursera.org
Reply To:
To: LeeBroomStudio@aol.com
CC:
BCC:
Sent on:
Sent from the Internet (Details)
Lee Broom,
Mary L. xxxxxxx has written a new post in the thread Discovery on the Introductions forum for the Constitutional Law online course.

Thank You! and Agreed! I personally see the connection.

Click here to view the post. Subscribe to it to get notified when a response comes in.

Thanks,
The Constitutional Law Course Staff

Go to Forum

Hi Mary. Had it not been for my mother I might have remained uneducated. I was apparently autistic before that label was in common use. I am old now and my only occupation is to write. I write about the responsibilities for acquiring the information we need to pursue our goals. I write about leadership being expressed unknowingly as an act of love. And though I often feel helpless I use that feeling as time to take a nap or to spend an hour making a beautiful salad. Thanks, Lee.

Broom,
Mary L. xxx has written a new comment in the thread Discovery on the Introductions forum for the Constitutional Law online course.

Hello Lee. Nice to make your acquaintance. Though I am not the writer or the poster. I am one. Sounds like we have some things in common. Though I myself am not autistic. I have advocated for and worked with those with autism and other disabilities and can relate due to my own. Which I prefer to call differently abeled. If we must be labeled. Sounds like your mother was/is a special lady. Must be why we all find ourselves here. A common thread. Got to love salads! Wishing you, our Anonymous Poster above and everyone here all the best!

Click here to view the comment. Subscribe to it to get notified when a response comes in.

Thanks,
The Constitutional Law Course Staff

Leave a Reply

