Whoso would be a man must also be a ONE ACT PLAY

 

lee_broom

Whoso would be a man must also be a non conformist. –Ralph Waldo Emerson, Essays: First Series

 

THE TRUE LEADER

POSSIBLE CAST OF CHARACTERS:

Rebel: Anti-conformist.

Scholar: Non-conformist; seeker of truth.

Follower: “What should I do?”

Leader: “What if…….”, “How would……..?”, “Why was that?”

Seasoned Follower: Sounds a little bit like a True Leader. Always carries a book written by an actual True Leader.

Voice in the Crowd: Could be anybody, a True leader, A Seasoned Follower, a Non-conformist-Anybody, Anti-conformist; anybody, really.

THE STORY BEGINS:

Voice in the Crowd: Who wants to be our leader?

Seasoned Follower:  I do. 

Voice in the Crowd  Go ahead then. You shall be our leader.

A Child in Their Midst:  I think the Voice in the Crowd should be our leader.

Though coming from the lips of one so young, the idea seems to resonate throughout the crowd; the followers quickly vote
amongst themselves and elect the Voice in the Crowd to be their Leader.

Voice in the Crowd: No, No; please, I don’t want that responsibility, really; I spend most of my time writing. I don’t have time to be a Leader. 

The Child in Their Midst: I have an idea; you continue to spend your days writing and I’ll come over every morning and edit your written words; I’ll even create a blog, And, I could make a movie of you at work and publish the video on YouTube. I’m little; you won’t even know I’m there. And you, Mr. Voice in the Crowd, can continue your daily activities undisturbed by your followers plus…. your followers will have a new Leader.

The Voice in the crowd appears to mull this idea over, eventually relaxing his furrowed brow, replacing the worrisome stress indicator with a big, wide smile on his lips which is in turn, greeted by a resounding salvo of energetic hurrahs and this group of followers celebrates the fact that they now had a new Leader. Of course they all think that their new leader is Mr. Voice in the Crowd but you and I know that the True Leader is the little girl, the Child in Their Midst,  who saves the day.

Leadership: A Love Story by Lee Broom.

Leave a Reply

